Copyright © 2006 - 2018 by Edward A. Morris,  All Rights Reserved
Existing 6-year terms
Cure for the Demagogue's Disease
At present, all nations with a constitution have presidential terms of from 4 to 7 years.

A few nations, like
Ecuador and South Korea, already have a “no reelection” provision.

Philippines until 1940 had a single six-year term.

In 2001,
France changed its presidential term from 7 years to 5 years.

The American people had ideas that too much power and glory is not politically healthy, so the 22nd
Amendment was enacted.

Nigeria and Mali have a lifetime limit of two terms. Like America, the president only gets eight years,
then out forever!

Since poor countries will copy successful ones.  If the United States were to change to a single six-year
term, that could encourage other countries to do the same.